TEMPLE OF CHRIST'S YPAPANTI IN KALAMATA
In the historic centre of the city there is the Metropolitan Temple of Christ's Ypapanti, which is also the patron of Kalamata. The Byzantine Metropolitan and Cathedral Temple exist since 1873. In the temple, there is the miracle working icon of Panagia Ypapanti, the protectress of the people of Kalamata and of all the Messenians. Every year, on the 1st and 2nd of February there is a celebration and a litany of the icon in the centre of the town.
TEMPLE OF SAINT THEODORE IN KAMPOS
On the east side of Messenia Prefecture, at the village Avias, in Kampos, there is the Temple of Saint Theodore. Built in the 12th century, this byzantine temple is one of the greatest monuments in the area, since it is in a very good condition. It is known for the number and the quality of its religious paintings and bears many resemblances to other churches of Mani that were built in the same period.
MONASTERY OF SAINT KONSTANTINOS AND SAINT ELENI
The Monastery of Saint Konstantinos and Saint Eleni is in the city of Kalamata and it is also known as "Moni Kalograion" (Monastery of nuns), because it has always been a female monastery since its foundation. It was founded in 1796 and it has had an important charity activity, being really next to the society of the city. Apart from charities, the Monastery is also widely known for sericulture and the processing of silk. The handiworks of the nuns are unique and due to them many prizes have been awarded to the Monastery. There is a weaving-mill, a library as well as a shop in the Monastery. Moreover there is a vestry-museum, with mortal relics of Saints and artifacts, such as vestments, sacred vessels, icons and a part of the ancient iconostasis.
MONASTERY OF DIMIOVA
Near Elaiochori, at a distance of 15 kilometers from Kalamata, there is the Monastery of Dimiova, dedicated to the Assumption of Virgin Mary. The church dates back to the 17th century, however, the Monastery has been there for many centuries. Legend has it that the icon of Panagia Dimiovitissa, as called, was hit by the brother of Leo the Isaurian and it bled. The wonderworking icon is still there. Moreover, there are wall paintings dating back to 1663, as well as the unique woodcut iconostasis of the church. The Monastery is female and it celebrates on August 15th.